I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 1 / 0 9 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on January 9, 2009


 

I really love high waisted jeans. I remember when I got my first pair of Cheap Mondays (oh the days when Opening Ceremony had like ten thousand pairs of these covering the floor of the entire upstairs room . . .) and I couldn’t believe how high waisted they felt. Of course, that was because I had been wearing Tripp/Trash jeans previously. My first pair of April 77s felt the same way and I was so pumped because I had picked them up in Paris before they were available in America. These days, I can’t even put either of those brands on without looking down at my waist like this : (

Well, needless to say, I got super into high waisties a year or so ago and now I can’t go back. I was first introduced by some random pair from Beacon’s, but they didn’t really work that well (too baggy in the waist, too tight in the legs). Then I found this pair from Urban Outfitters which were pretty much the greatest thing for me. I wore them to shit and kept replacing them, but sadly, they are no longer available. Currently, I’m wearing this pair from Topshop:


And while I do like this pair, they’re not perfect. They’re not as good as those Urban Outfitters ones that I can’t find a picture of online. And I have obviously acquired various pairs like the AA Disco Pants (good but not for every day wear), AA high waisties (the zipper has fallen out like twenty times, even though I keep getting it replaced), Rapscallion by Samantha Pleet (from Urbans — these are okay, but they’re blue, so I need to dye them . . . and they’re already getting way too baggy) . . . The thing is that I would totally spend the massive amounts of money on some fancy jeans like Tsubi or Acne, but I don’t know if they would come in my size. Online, I can’t find any and there aren’t really any cool stores around Allston that sell high waisties. My obvious hope is that when Topshop opens in America (3 months!!), there will be something special waiting for me and since I can try things on (as opposed to online shopping), I’ll finally be able to find something I truly love.

When I was in NYC, I tried on all these old jeans that were in my room and I couldn’t even conceive of wearing them out now. High waisties work really well with my body type and without them, I don’t even know if I can wear pants anymore. I’ve become spoiled, but now I’m in danger of this trend dying out or becoming unavailable and me being screwed. Tights all the time? How boring . . .

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lola said, on February 7, 2009 at 7:19 PM

    Have you seen the jeans in the topshop lookbook which are encrusted with brass pyramid studs on the front? Keep your eyes peeled (disgusting phrase).

  2. Jeralyn said, on February 8, 2009 at 10:14 PM

    I haven’t seen these but they’re sounding pretty good. I don’t know if I could handle too much embellishment on my legs though…. I guess we’ll see when Topshop opens in NYC…


Leave a Reply

