I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 1 / 1 3 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on January 13, 2009


 


I’ve loved The Wake ever since I heard “Something Outside” on Michael Goodstein’s radio show. It’s funny/weird to remember me sitting in my room on Humboldt every week, listening to Michael and doing homework (except for that time I guested on the show, got drunk with Carl from The Libertines (hey it was 2004!) and forced Michael to play Cradle of Filth). Was I ever that young? Anyway, “Something Outside” remains my favorite Wake song, closely followed by “On Our Honeymoon” and pretty much everything off of Harmony. Despite that, I’ve been considering getting the above song tattooed on me. It would be quite an honor for this song, as I’ve only one other straight up song title tattooed on me. But I would like to do it for different reasons than the other one . . . Reasons why: One, the song is called “O Pamela” which would look sick in script letters. Two, since this song isn’t my favorite Wake song, but I do love certain lines from it (and the title), I think it would be a little inside joke with myself. And truthfully, all of my tattoos just end up being little inside jokes with myself. Unfortunately, I have no money to waste on tattoos these days, which is a shame because I’m never going to finish everything I started at this rate . . .

The Wake, which at one point featured Bobby Gillespie of Jesus & Mary Chain/Primal Scream fame, and always featured Caesar who I think briefly roadied for Altered Images, are somewhat of a lost Factory band. They’re not a complete hidden gem, but most people who love the Factory hard-hitters (Joy Division, New Order) haven’t heard them, which is a shame because no one does icy cold synth drenched post-pop like The Wake. There was recently a dvd put out of their live performances, here are some gems:


Here Comes Everybody

 


Something Outside

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. justin said, on January 14, 2009 at 7:41 PM

    i love the wake. a boy who will not be named put them on a tape for me years ago. makes me think of boston and the phoenix and another boy i was obsessed with. pale spectre and honeymoon are my jayms.

  2. Jeralyn said, on January 14, 2009 at 7:42 PM

    Of course you do. You know about everything cool. I think I know the boy you are talking about. On Our Honeymoon is totally the best, but man SOMETHING OUTSIDE. That is my Wake jam FRMF.


Leave a Reply

