I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 2 / 2 3 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on February 23, 2009


 


In an attempt to leave the stifling boredom of my room behind for a little while today, I went thrift shopping around Allston. First, Urban Renewals, which is generally pretty bad but sometimes has good furniture or various odds and ends. I managed to find this vintage black leather skirt which actually fits me really well and I am super stoked on it. I think it’s going to be a lot more useful than that pleather skirt from Zara which seemed like a good idea at the time but proved really hard to actually move around in. $7.99, total steal. I also grabbed Bram Stoker’s Dracula (the book) and a book about juice fasting. I feel like this purchase really showcases all the various aspects of my personality. There’s the black leather — something I love way too much for a vegetarian, the goth-ness of the vampire book (a somewhat new but all-consuming love) and the bourgeois food-hippiness. After Urban Renewals, I went to the newish Goodwill which completely sucked all around (not organized, nothing good, etc), though I managed to find this skinny black leather belt, which is something I’ve felt was missing from my wardrobe as of late.


After leaving the Goodwill, I noticed that there was an In Your Ear record store a few doors down. A friend recently took me to the one in Harvard Square which had a few things of note, so I figured I’d check this one out. Good idea. I managed to find a bunch of good stuff: Love & Rockets (really wanted “So Alive” on vinyl), Twelve Drummers Drumming (have one song from this album on 12″), Psychic TV (been listening to a lot of this lately), Voice Farm (minimal synth band), Nash The Slash (Canadian minimal synth), Adam Ant – Deutscher Girls 7″ and Bow Wow Wow – Fools Rush In 7″. I was just talking about “Deutscher Girls” with Micki the other day and I’ve been thinking about Bow Wow Wow’s cover of that song since re-watching Marie Antoinette a few months ago. Of course I ended up chatting with the old creeps in the record store for a while about TG and PTV. Old record store creeps always love me. There was an INSANE amount of 7″s at this store so I am sure I will be back to peruse and see if there’s any other goodies hidden away. I didn’t want to go through them all today because a) it would have taken hours and b) then I wouldn’t be able to go back (doesn’t really seem like the kind of store that gets much new stock in). All of these purchases cost me less than $50, so I think today’s retail therapy session was extremely successful.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Madam Stan - Ant Lib Online said, on February 24, 2009 at 7:14 AM

    Wow great finds! Has inspired me to make a long-overdue visit to Music Exchange in Notting Hill this week! Would love to track down Lock & Rockets’ Adam Ant cover…

    Stan xx

  2. Jeralyn said, on February 24, 2009 at 1:37 PM

    Every time I go to London, I visit the Music Exchange and spend waaaaaay too much money and then have to lug home tons of records in an extraordinarily heavy suitcase. Totally worth it though, some of the best finds in my collection have come from there!


Leave a Reply

