I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 3 / 2 3 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on March 23, 2009


 




Wore my hair up tonight, as suggested by Massimo and Ilirjana the other night . . .

Anyway, I have a confession to make: I LOVE CUT COPY! Sorry, I know I ramble on about goth this and synth that but it can’t be helped. I first got into them because my brother was into The Presets and they were opening for Cut Copy in the fall so we went. Before heading over to the show I listened to a few Cut Copy songs, got pretty into it, had a fucking blast at the show because they were amazing, and since then I’ve been hooked. So tonight they came through town again and we went to the new House of Blues, which is really just Avalon with a new paint job. Matt & Kim opened — I was completely uninterested in that. But then . . . CUT COPY! They were so good. Infectious pop songs, so catchy, super cute boys, awesome dance moves — I was briefly bummed that we were on the balcony and not down on the floor in the thick of it all but then of course I saw all the glowsticks twirling around and the children crowdsurfing and I revised my opinion. Next Sunday I am going to see MORRISSEY at the same venue and I am pretty sure that getting a good spot will be easy there (though I am, and always have been, worried by the rabidity of Moz fans) so I’m psyched. Currently I am deaf in my left ear, though I don’t regret standing so close to the stage at all. It was so nice to be out at something that I actually enjoyed around here and in case you haven’t discovered the absolute perfection and happiness that Cut Copy can be, please see here:



PS – It was exactly like that except they all got haircuts so they’re much cuter now.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BRC said, on March 24, 2009 at 8:51 PM

    have you heard Passion Pit? You may enjoy them. quite possibly not at all, tho. worth a listen if you don’t know them.

  2. Jeralyn said, on March 24, 2009 at 8:53 PM

    I should probably listen, since they’re from Boston and that’s where I’m living right now. There’s quite a buzz around them, but sometimes I am pretty lazy about hearing new music.

  3. BRC said, on March 24, 2009 at 9:35 PM

    esp. buzz music. sometimes its so easy to be a snob but i think (hope!) i’ve grown out of that. I think you mentioned weird records recently and though Three to Forgotten is only on their comps with no proper release (as far as I know), that’s some amazing dark synth stuff. I’ve had their three songs on repeat for days. xo

  4. Jeralyn said, on March 24, 2009 at 9:39 PM

    Yeah I’ve mentioned Wierd–my friend Pieter runs that label and I go to the party whenever I am in NYC (and when I lived there, I went every week for years). Three To Forgotten is Sean aka Martial Cantereal with Liz (Sean & Liz together are Xeno & Oaklander) and Cheyney (aka Epee du Bois). I don’t think they play out much but I’ve seen Sean accompany Cheyney and Xeno & Oaklander play a lot and are insanely amazing. If you haven’t been to Wierd on a Wednesday, definitely go, there’s a band almost every week and the DJs are incomparable.

  5. BRC said, on March 24, 2009 at 9:44 PM

    thanks so much! The only time I had gone was to see cult of youth and ended up dancing in the smoke before and after.

  6. Jeralyn said, on March 24, 2009 at 10:27 PM

    Yeah everyone remembers that party as “the one with the smoke machines” . . . Seriously though it is pretty much the best. Check their Myspace page for a huge list of upcoming live events. I’ll be at some!


Leave a Reply

