I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 4 / 0 2 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on April 2, 2009


 




Silence + Noise blazer, L.A.M.B. tank top, Topshop jeans.

The internet can be a strange place. Having spent the better part of the past two decades roaming around its virtual corners and crevices (yes, it was in fact over fifteen years ago that I got my first AOL screen name), it’s never a surprise to me when people refer to me as “from the internet” or anything else that might be construed as a bit of insult — how can I care when it’s clearly the truth? Granted, due to a bit of overexposure, I did make an attempt to pull myself away from any kind of ‘spotlight’ for a while, but with this blog I guess I’ve started putting myself back out there. Anyway, my history as a mild internet celebrity or whatever (really, I wish I was kidding) will be expounded on much more thoroughly in the new zine I am working on but the real point of this musing was to reference a recent anecdote. I was trolling the internet for downloadable versions of new records/bands I had heard about, one of them being Dum Dum Girls. I knew that they had a record out on Captured Tracks which I know is run by the dude from Blank Dogs so I knew it would be good but I was hardly prepared for how good it actually is. Anyway, I completely fell for the charming lo-fi sounds and added the band on Myspace, only to find out that it is really the project of one girl (Dee Dee) and that she had been a reader of my old site/zine Spelling Problems back in the day. Add to that an old Make Out Club member messaging me about a mix tape I made for her in the early 00s and you can understand the bizarre sensation I’m having tonight of coming full circle.

Dum Dum Girls – Blank Girl

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BRC said, on April 2, 2009 at 10:25 PM

    (members of) Blank Dogs + Dum Dum Girls = The Mayfair Set (omfg, very very good).
    Really like the l.a.m.b. tank top.

  2. Jeralyn said, on April 3, 2009 at 3:34 AM

    I will definitely check that out. I know there’s a lot of hype around Blank Dogs but I just kind of believe that dude can do no wrong, so . . . .

  3. BRC said, on April 3, 2009 at 6:56 AM

    I agree. He def. kicked of this current lo-fi resurgence and he does it far better than all the sad imitators.Plus he’s just a wealth of non stop releases and they’re all quality. He used to have a great blogspot but after awhile I guess he just got bored of doing it. As for captured tracks, any label with The Bitters and Blessure Grave is dark and dreamy enough to hold my attention. XO

  4. fuxsake said, on April 3, 2009 at 12:42 PM

    things coming full circle are sensational. i personally love it when that happens.
    didn’t know you were an “internet celeb” but i know what you mean with the exposure.
    when i was 15 i used to be quite a myspace junkie, lots of pictures, lots of strangers as “friends” but at one point i decided it was just too much when someone wrote me a message asking if i was in berlin at that moment because this stranger’s friend (who i didn’t even know) thought she saw me.
    that was kind of creepy so i pushed the “delete” account. for good.

  5. Jeralyn said, on April 3, 2009 at 1:01 PM

    Yeah – I was just too involved in various sites – definitely had people I didn’t know talking about me and saying they had seen me places. I just had too much exposure and a lot of it was because I put myself out there, but when you do that there’s always some kind of a negative reaction from naysayers – especially because I briefly dated someone sort of “famous” in the NYC scene. Ah well, anyway, at this point it was all a long time ago but some of it left a sour taste in my mouth. The nice thing about Dee Dee saying she was a fan of Spelling Problems was that was why I did it – to connect with people, you know? To share my ideas, etc…


Leave a Reply

