I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 4 / 1 4 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on April 14, 2009


 




Cold Cave cassette I bought despite not having a cassette player.

The show last night was easily the best of 2009, so far. It might take the title for the whole year, but we’re only one third done with it so I can’t say for sure. Cold Cave’s set was short and they didn’t play “Heaven’s Gate” (my favorite) but they did play their new song “Love Comes Close.” When I first heard the latter, I was a bit dismayed at how reminiscent it was of early New Order, but it grew on me after a few listens. I was talking with Micki’s friend Chris after Cold Cave’s set and he said that it never bothers him if an artist’s influences are readily apparent if he considers that artist to be someone(s) who will move the aesthetic further. I didn’t realize until he said it, but that’s how I feel too. The rest of the show was great — I’ve seen Crystal Stilts before and thought they killed it but last night was even better. Comet Gain were everything I could have hoped for, playing a bunch of my favorite songs from Realistes and City Fallen Leaves (no “Record Collection” though). Throughout the night I got unbelievably wasted, so much so that I was able to tell Wes how much I love Cold Cave and Heartworm (though I was still able to maintain a little bit of composure at that point) and David from Comet Gain how I’ve been a fan for over ten years (composure gone by that point). I cured my hangover by hanging out with friends all day and giving Beacon’s money I don’t really have. It’s fucking great to be back.

Cold Cave // Crystal Stilts // Comet Gain

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BRC said, on April 17, 2009 at 10:27 AM

    That show was amazing. I had such a good time. Cold Cave has grown in their live performance so much since their 1st show w/ burning star core and I love the changing sounds from the Coma Potion 12″ up till now. Comet gain was every bit as charming and explosive as I hoped they’d be. I left the show that night w/ a geeked out smile and some great merch only to see the giant moon waiting, glowing yellow in the sky. Kinda perfect. xo
    If you really like the hrtwrm stuff you should talk to Max Morton(if you haven’t) as well if you get a chance. He couldn’t be any nicer and he’s super instrumental in their releases. Great guy.

  2. Jeralyn said, on April 17, 2009 at 1:10 PM

    Yeah I thought about talking to Max because I am a big fan of his writing, but I used to sort of hang out with Wes in my younger years in Boston so since he remembered me, it was a lot easier to breach that barrier. The alcohol helped too. I don’t know if I can make it down, but Cold Cave and Blank Dogs are playing my friend Micki’s art show closing at Live With Animals (at Monster Island) Friday April 24th. You should go!


Leave a Reply

