I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 4 / 2 0 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on April 20, 2009


 






I might have given the impression that I spent all my money on clothes, but guess what? I spent it all on records!

When I first moved out (2002), I had about four boxes of records. These days I have enough to fill more than twelve (+ two boxes of seven inches). Now that I’ve got them all together, I’ll have to start the massive reorganization attempt. Last time I organized them by genre (some made up) and then alphabetically within the genre. But every time I move, I tend to come up with a new way of arranging them, so stay tuned . . .

Sidenote: Last time I moved, Daniel’s friends Justin and Kyle helped me. My records took up the entire back of their pick up truck. I thought that was crazy but they told me they had recently moved Mike of Academy Annex fame (among other things) and his records took four trips in their truck. I’ll get there someday . . .

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BRC said, on April 21, 2009 at 8:12 AM

    ha! Great post. I can relate. You should see the pics of Howie Pyro’s records. It’s blows my mind into pieces. xo

  2. Jeralyn said, on April 21, 2009 at 12:30 PM

    Yeah, I saw pics of Lux & Ivy’s records once, it was pretty nuts. I love record collections. They reveal so much about a person . . . .

  3. BRC said, on April 21, 2009 at 1:20 PM

    So true. I was just telling a friend last night, there is something so great to be said about putting that needle down (that feeling alone is a dark heaven) to something new you’ve been waiting for with great art or something that means/meant something truly important. It’s similar to putting in the time to make a mix tape for someone. Making sure everything fit and the handwriting and art were just right.

  4. Jeralyn said, on April 21, 2009 at 2:56 PM

    I have to get a cassette player because I want to listen to that Cold Cave tape + a tape I got from this French band Frank (Just Frank) who played at Wierd… also I want to make a mixtape, since I haven’t made one since 2005. I don’t know what it is about getting older that just makes me want to do all the same stuff I used to do when I was younger….

    Hey, btw, I know you like Cult of Youth — they’re playing Wierd May 20th and I’m going to DJ the show, come say hi.


Leave a Reply

