I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 4 / 2 1 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on April 21, 2009


 





Got this in the mail today.

I’ve mentioned before how my music roots lie in hardcore, specifically in the San Diego hardcore scene — or at least, music that sounded like it was put out on Gravity or Three One G even if it wasn’t. Glenn and I used to do a hardcore night for a while and Glenn’s friend Anthony would come and Glenn would tell me how he was writing a book about hardcore. I didn’t take the time to stop and realize that Anthony was Anthony Pappalardo of In My Eyes and Ten Yard Fight (Boston hardcore heroes, even if they weren’t my style). Anyway, fast forward about a year later and Anthony’s book, Radio Silence, came out and I DJed the afterparty of the Boston opening. Good times. If you have any interest in hardcore at all, the book is beautifully put together and well worth checking out.

We love seven inches.


Me with Nation of Ulysses at the opening.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BRC said, on April 21, 2009 at 6:04 PM

    Great book! Rad outfit. Hopefully I’ll get the chance to hear you spin after COY or sometime soon. If you start making mixtapes again, I’d love to find one in the mailbox one day. I’m working on my book right now and I’ll be spending time in philly this summer w a book maker friend of mine. Just a collection of three previous poetry/narration zines and a new one but I’d love to send a copy in your direction via black envelope for your hands and heart should you have the time to read it. <3

  2. Jeralyn said, on April 21, 2009 at 7:28 PM

    Yeah totally, let me know when your book is done and I’ll give you my address. And I’ll keep you informed of when the zine is finished.

  3. JXSTXN said, on April 22, 2009 at 3:45 PM

    precious!


Leave a Reply

