I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 5 / 0 5 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on May 5, 2009


 






DIY shredded shirt/dress.

The other night Paul and I were having chill-out-movie-time and I decided to shred another shirt. I grabbed this vintage 50/50 tee that Justin gave me, one of many Rogues Gallery shirts that I have lying around the house. (My other shredded shirt was made from a RG tee too. Though they’re not actually made by RG, they’re acquired on rag-picking trips and then RG double dye and screenprint on them, but I digress . . .) I decided to try a method mentioned on Outsapop of holding the neck of the shirt down with your feet to stretch it out and make shredding easier. Since this shirt is 50/50 and suuuuper stretchy anyway, it worked amazingly well. Whereas my other attempts at shredding have taken days and days, I was able to kill this thing in about seven-ish hours. The back took about five, but then I decided that it was too boring without at least part of the front done too. Then when I tried it on, it was much too baggy and weird so today I decided to take it in on the non-shredded side. I’m not that great with sewing, but I can eyeball stuff enough to get it to fit me and look how I want it to. Anyway, it’s still not as much of a dress as I would like, though I plan on wearing it out as one tonight. In the future I’m thinking I should take stuff in first and then shred it. Anyway, since I had such a great time getting this one done, I started two more yesterday (one is already finished) and I might sell them in the store, if Paul doesn’t steal them.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sarah A. said, on May 5, 2009 at 9:39 PM

    I hope you know…thats gray!
    Well done.

  2. Jeralyn said, on May 8, 2009 at 10:53 PM

    Thanks! Now that I know some tricks, shredding is not nearly as frustrating as it was when I first attempted it…


Leave a Reply

