I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 5 / 2 1 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on May 21, 2009


 








Cult of Youth at Wierd.

Last night was great and as predicted, I stayed till the bitter end, dancing to “Enola Gay” as the lights came on. Cult of Youth were fantastic, they just get better and better, from the first time I heard Sean play a song in his living room till now, watching their growth has been something really special to me. I get so bummed that I am in Boston and miss out on seeing my friends in New York doing all this great stuff so whenever I have time to make it down and be part of it, even for a brief moment, I have to. The last picture is Adam of Death Domain who came up from Baltimore to DJ last night. We did a tag-team set but, of course, I brought my electronics curse with me and somehow one of the turntables wasn’t working (and I broke my brand new camera later in the night). Regardless, I’m pretty sure we killed it, though I don’t know why I brought such an insane amount of records when I feel like I barely even played half. Anyway, Adam and Sean have done a fantastic cover of Portion Control’s “Justify Treason” that’s up on the Death Domain Myspace page. Death Domain, Cult of Youth and Tamaryn are all playing a show together in Brooklyn on June 5th (info here). Again, all fans of the darker side of things should really check it out — modern minimal synth, neo-folk and gypsy wave, doesn’t get any rarer than that . . .

Pieter of Wierd Records is putting out a four volume compilation of the best of the best minimal synth ever (coming out this summer I think on a European label, I’ll post info when I have it) and he gave me a burnt copy of it last night that I’ll be listening to on the way back to Boston. I already have fourteen of his general mixes and, of course, all the Wierd comps but there really is no such thing as too much . . .

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissa said, on May 21, 2009 at 1:24 PM

    it’s funny you should mention ‘enola gay’, just yesterday i was telling someone about how underrated OMD is.

  2. Jeralyn said, on May 22, 2009 at 4:31 PM

    We danced to “Electricty” and “Enola Gay,” both of which I love, but my favorite OMD song is “The Misunderstanding.” Not really a dancey one though…

  3. brendan donnelly said, on May 26, 2009 at 3:27 PM

    i think that’s my friend beverly’s boyfriend whos the lead singer/guitarist of cult of youth. i met him a few times and he mentioned all the bands he was in but i always forget band names these days. there’s a pic of us on her blog (realitynoshow.blogspot.com)
    he’s awesome!

  4. Jeralyn said, on May 26, 2009 at 5:28 PM

    Ha – yeah I know Beverly, we went to college together. I’ve known Sean for a while, he’s the best! Total music nerd which is obviously my favorite thing.


Leave a Reply

