I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 6 / 1 6 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on June 16, 2009


 


Helmut Lang Shirt, Urban Outfitters skirt.

This shirt was bought as part of a pre-Christmas gift to myself because I was shopping and stopped at Barney’s only to find this and some other gems heavily marked down on the sale rack. When I got home and showed my brother my new purchases, he said that everything I wear is exactly the same: dark, solid colors. While this is true, it’s not for any lack of imagination on my part. It’s because I’ve made a conscious decision to weed out most prints and most bright colors (save for whites and a few jewel tones). I can recall the exact moment when this decision was made; it happened when I was still working at Beacon’s. I was admiring someone else’s wardrobe and noticing how this person always seemed put together, no matter what she had thrown on that morning. And then I realized it was because there was an underlying theme to everything she wore (both color and style-wise). Instead of just snatching up every cool thing she could find (which is what a lot of us did at Beacon’s), the woman in question had been carefully selecting pieces based on all sorts of rules which are still unbeknownst to me. But the point is that it worked, what she was trying to achieve was translated subtly through her clothing. So that’s when I decided to come up with my own rules and to try to build a wardrobe based on a statement created out of themes and feelings as opposed to individual pieces.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nope. said, on June 18, 2009 at 3:47 PM

    is this your thing?
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=20240979

    and what of that super goth stuff coming from H&M? how say you?

  2. Jeralyn said, on June 19, 2009 at 12:40 AM

    That bag is pretty sick. I don’t think I know of the new goth stuff from H&M – I saw some stuff on Kingdom of Style but I don’t know if that’s what you’re talking about. I was thinking earlier though about how it can be annoying when certain aspects of a subculture become popular in the mainstream – hard to know who is “for real” or whatever. But, on the other hand, I am not going to NOT like the things I like just because there are some posers out there. Gotta stick to my guns.


Leave a Reply

