I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 6 / 2 0 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on June 20, 2009


 

The Legends – Darling

Way back in October, Justin put a bunch of stuff on my iPod and I’m still sifting through it and finding new things to be into. Justin is much more aware of modern music than I am, especially things with an electronic slant. Clearly, I am also aware of modern music, but most of the new stuff I know about is via the New York scene. Anyway, I’ve been totally digging these two Legends albums. Very New Order-ish but in a good way . . . like a cross between New Order and Mojave 3 (sidenote: Mojave 3 are totally what I would consider “indie rock,” at least in the 90s sense of the word, but Neil Halstead was in SLOWDIVE, so I will always enjoy his music no matter which direction it takes). Reminds me a lot of Gentle Touch, who I fucking love. My brother is really obsessed with Swedish pop and while some of it can have a bit of a throwaway vibe, The Legends definitely don’t. Of course they’re about to play three shows in NYC (one with Blacklist on June 24th at Santo’s — friends in NYC, I beseech you to go!) and I don’t think I can make it to any of them. I was just mentioning to my brother the other day that I never realized exactly how important going to shows was to me until I moved here and started missing out on so many.

This is what I’m talking about . . .
 

New Order – Age of Consent (Live)

 

Mojave 3 – In Love With A View (Live)

 

Gentle Touch – Expectations (Live)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. justin said, on June 28, 2009 at 7:42 PM

    justin likes this

  2. Jeralyn said, on June 29, 2009 at 3:05 PM

    Of course you do… we are 90% similar.


Leave a Reply

