I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 7 / 0 8 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on July 8, 2009


 




Chaiken blazer, Dries van Noten tee, Sass & Bide Black Rats, Linea Paolo boots.

I don’t even want to talk about the fact that I am comfortable wearing a wool blazer in July or I’ll start crying. Despite loving the darkness and pale skin and blah blah blah, I’m still a fan of the summer — it’s really all we have up here in the northeast . . . Anyway. I acquired these Black Rats via Ebay sometime during the winter but this is the first time I’ve worn them out of the house. When they arrived, I wasn’t really into them, but recently my only always-wearable black jeans became unwearable when too many rips started showing up in the seems. Sadly, I had to let them go. I have yet to replace them (that was what my trip to Topshop was supposed to be for but I am definitely happier to own those sick cut-out leggings, who needs practical anything?) so I’ve been trying to be creative with the bottom half of my body lately. I’m sick of the disco pants though, that thick polyester is really starting to irritate my skin. I remembered these when I was getting ready this morning and had the idea to wear them as pants instead of leggings. Good call — I like them much better this way. I thought it might be a little obscene but considering I constantly squish myself into the tightest black things I can find (be they short skirts, tight stretch jeans or leggings), I don’t really think it matters so much.

The blazer and boots are Beacon’s finds. The former I got around New Year’s and at first I thought it was a tuxedo-style jacket with tails but then I realized that I could button up the tails and it would be this cool slightly different blazer. One of my friends put the boots on hold for me the last time I was in New York but no one can remember who it was. Either way, they had my name on them (literally) and despite being a size too big and kind of cowboy-ish, I figured if Nick Cave and Givenchy can do it — so can I. The Dries shirt is one of my faves and I’ve been wearing it regularly since I got it at Belinda when I was in Sydney a few years ago.

I’m still trying to figure out what I should do about pants. For a while I was really into high-waisted everything but that trend doesn’t really seem to have lasted and finding good high-waisted jeans seems a lot harder now than it was last year. Which sucks because when I was dressing like that, I got tons of shirts that looked great tucked in. If I am going to start wearing leggings as pants, I need way more tunicy-drapey shirts, which is fine but I’m broke right now and need to find ways to fill these sartorial gaps as cheaply as possible (without actually buying shitty cheaply-made clothes).

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissa said, on July 12, 2009 at 3:22 PM

    i’ve been wearing my black rats as pants…and i get a lot of compliments on them. people always want to know where to get them, and of course i go back and forth on whether or not to tell them…i just tell them that they’re black rats and i found them online. and then i get a weird look for saying that i’m wearing “black rats”.

  2. Veronica said, on July 16, 2009 at 11:37 AM

    I put those boots aside for you! do you love me or what?

  3. Jeralyn said, on July 16, 2009 at 11:38 AM

    WUV TWU WUV! Seriously, thanks!


Leave a Reply

