I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 7 / 1 3 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on July 13, 2009


 


This is Zack. When I got back from Berlin in 2004, Amy and I decided that we were going to do whatever we had to do to make him our new best friend. Turns out all we had to do was go to the Mars Bar every night that he was working, drunkenly displaying our endless wit and charm and he was powerless to resist. I can’t even count the number of amazing/debaucherous/weird/hilarious things we’ve all gotten into together. I love this guy more than I could ever articulate. So, of course, I was psyched that his band Fresh Kills were playing that NY Eye & Ear Fest on Saturday. When they came on stage to set up, I realized that I was completely in love with Zack’s outfit. He kind of dresses in a general uniform of tight but not too tight denim, cool shoes, button-downs and/or t-shirts (or a suit). Even though this outfit falls within those parameters, I found it to be a flawless example of his look. He clearly looks like he is not trying at all, but when I saw him in the light I realized that everything he had on varied between shades of black, grey and a faded black that fell somewhere in the middle. His shoes were black and grey and he had on matching black and grey argyle socks. I loved it.

Zack’s live performances with Fresh Kills have been described as: always somewhat unhinged, reaching a crescendo of paranoia, aggression, and twisted vulnerability and often communicating desperation and hilarity simultaneously. His is a true New York City voice. [Tris McCall]

Besides constantly killing it on stage, he is also an incredibly prolific writer having put out two books with Evil Twin Publications: No Seats On The Party Car and Slept In Beds (both with photos by Nick Zinner — Zack also wrote an essay for Nick’s photo book I Hope You Are All Happy Now.) And some of his other stories can be found at Vol 1. Brooklyn. Highlight: I hope you are out, doing your thing and you see some girl in an Antischism t-shirt and eyeliner and you’ll think “I would pay that girl to punch me in the face, forever until I am dead.” That’s love. (From Advice for the Newly Cloned Wooly Mammoth.)

Lastly, I will leave you with a video of Fresh Kills performing one of my favorites:

Fresh Kills – Revelations

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] NYE&EII performances by Freshkills and Living Days at 92YTribeca with photos… Freshkills Read here >> ; Living Days Read here >> updated […]


Leave a Reply

