I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 7 / 2 1 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on July 21, 2009


 



Vintage blazer, Silence + Noise shirt, Bblessing necklace.

Cara’s probably going to kill me when I arrive at her house wearing leopard print. But I was at the Salvation Army in the town where my parents live and this was on sale for $1 and I couldn’t resist. Maybe it’s because I’ve been seeing prints around a lot or because when I tried it on I got a real Alison Mosshart vibe from it . . . either way, I felt like I could work it into my wardrobe. The last time I owned something leopard print was about 10-12 years ago, when I was in high school and trying to dress like Michelle Mae from The Make Up. I had big black hair with little curly-cue side things (which I obsessed over and spent hours getting to curl just right) and wore liquid black eyeliner in a 60s way (again, I obsessed over getting the curve of the eyeliner just right and would constantly be late for school because I wouldn’t leave if it didn’t look perfect). This was the time when black started to dominate my wardrobe. Justin and I would buy black dress pants and take them in to be super tight and wear them with thrift store t-shirts and black cardigans and dress shoes. We thought we were the shit and in a way, we were. We loved everything on K and Kill Rock Stars and spent all of our money on records, magazines and going to shows. Years later we met Calvin Johnson of K via Make Out Club and acted like it wasn’t a big deal. Last year I met Ian Svenonious of The Make Up and was so drunk I attempted to convey all he and his various bands had meant to me in high school (and how much I loved The Psychic Soviet) and even though he said it was the nicest thing anyone had ever said to him, I’m pretty sure it sounded like sloppy slurry groupie-talk. Whatever. The sixteen-year-old in me couldn’t stop smiling.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amanda said, on July 21, 2009 at 4:17 PM

    um i’ve been looking for leopard print shit too so you are not alone

  2. Jeralyn said, on July 21, 2009 at 4:35 PM

    I just don’t want to look like an 80s mom. I really hope I don’t look like that today!

  3. justin said, on July 21, 2009 at 9:04 PM

    you’ve always pulled off leopard print no matter how ‘married to the mob’ it looks sometimes.

  4. TAMARYN said, on July 22, 2009 at 4:39 AM

    i have this outfit in every color. embrace the beast.

  5. Lily said, on July 26, 2009 at 12:19 PM

    Love the LEOPARD!


Leave a Reply

