I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 7 / 3 1 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on July 31, 2009


 




Last night I took a break from all the project-stuff (good thing too because today my forearms and wrists are aching) and decided to watch Watchmen. I read it in anticipation of the film (and because I am a huge Alan Moore fan, both of his writing and just his general personality) but then I heard so many bad reviews that I didn’t even bother seeing it. But I knew it was on demand and my brother does have that fancy flat screen hi-def tv and Zack and I had been talking about it the other night so I figured, what the hell. It may be that my expectations were incredibly low, but I actually liked it. In terms of representing the book visually on screen, I thought they did a pretty good job — especially compared to most other comic book adaptations. (And compared to the disaster that was the Half-Blood Prince.) Anyway, it was obviously lacking in character development and good acting, but I think that was more than made up for by Malin Akerman as Silk Spectre II. I don’t think she’s a great actress or anything, but she looked hot as hell and her costume was pretty fashion-forward, considering. The thigh high boots attached to the corset seem like something a lot of people would freak out over (maybe not in latex though) and the suit itself is very Pam Hogg-ish. I did a little research and found out that her costume was designed by the same company that did Michelle Pfieffer’s Catwoman costume back in the early 90s.

Looking at this picture of Silk Spectre and Night Owl has led my brain down another road of noticing that all male superheroes (in movies and in comic books) tend to wear sculpted armor-suits that could actually offer some protection against danger while the females are always wearing something skimpy and tight with virtually nothing to protect them from an enemy (and how are they even supposed to really run in those stilletoes?). The article that I found mentioned that there was some controversy since Silk Spectre’s costume diverged a lot from the one in the book, however, I think that was a good idea . . . in the book she is wearing basically lingerie and high heels, at least this costume gives the illusion of armor even if it’s just latex.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sarah A. said, on July 31, 2009 at 6:01 PM

    i saw her in urban outfitters the day of our event…chopped off all her hair and dyed it ugly-blond. underwhelmed.

  2. Jeralyn said, on July 31, 2009 at 6:02 PM

    Yeah… I am much more interested in her costume than her. Plus I know she’s normally a blonde which doesn’t do it for me anyway.


Leave a Reply

