I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 8 / 16 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on August 16, 2009


 


This is the time of year when the summer just feels like it’s dragging on and instead of being exciting or interesting, it’s more of a burden. I’m speaking, of course, mostly about the weather – but I think that the weight of the heat and humidity becomes an affliction to most people and does infect their attitudes with a certain sort of lackadaisical attitude. Without the addition of any new clothes or shoes, I needed a way to shake up my look so I hacked off half of my bangs on the right side of my face. It was done in an obvious homage to my friends Cara and Lily, both who have pulled it off in a slightly more obvious way. Most people don’t even notice that I changed anything, but it’s helping me in my mission to actually grow my bangs out this time around (first time in over 15 years). And in case you may be wondering how cutting hair can help grow it out, well – I am not down with the ‘side swoop,’ as I call it. I think it lends an unpolished air to my face. I figured that this way, I can keep the bangs in my face while one side grows and as soon as that side is long enough, I’ll use it to cover the rest.

I’ve been listening to Studio a lot, and I suspect it ended up on my iPod via Justin because the genre is listed as “mental.” I’ve also been catching up on Netflix and drinking more than I ought to, but I think I’ll put the latter half of that aside this week when I plan on making at least one trip to my parents’ house in New Hampshire to bask in the shade by the lake.

Studio – West Side

 

My mom sent me and my brother an email this morning that said, “You guys probably already know these people but this song is awesome.”

Brian Eno & David Byrne – Strange Overtones

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. justin said, on August 16, 2009 at 7:06 PM

    i live for itunes genre defining. i also live for studio in the summer, it’s the only time it makes perfect sense. while not a huge fan of oppressive heat and not being able to plan accordingly dress-wise, i plan on milking it before a t-shirt is under a sweater under a jacket with a scarf over it.

  2. Jeralyn said, on August 16, 2009 at 7:39 PM

    Whatever, I can’t wait until it’s October and I can play “Crystal” by New Order and really MEAN it when I sing along. PS hurry up with my wolfsbane scarf before it gets cold! Should I come visit soon? Maybe this weekend?

  3. Lily said, on August 27, 2009 at 9:50 PM

    Isn’t this one of the prettiest songs ever?!

  4. Jeralyn said, on August 27, 2009 at 11:28 PM

    Lily, you and my mom always like the same kind of music. Soulmates!


Leave a Reply

