I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 8 / 2 6 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on August 26, 2009


 




I’ve been trying to figure out a way to wear this Diana Orving top since I found it at Beacon’s a few months ago. It’s weirdly asymmetrical and too tight on one of my arms so it’s been rather difficult but today I just threw it on over a pair of shorts with black boots and despite it being, as Sara G might say, rather “floofy,” I still like the look of it. Also threw on this rad little skull and crossbones ring I found at the Salvation Army yesterday. Unfortunately, I have skin similar to my mother’s — she is allergic to nickel and has bad reactions (rashes, etc) to almost all metals except pure gold and while my reactions aren’t as severe as that, there is definitely something going on with my skin that speeds up the tarnishing process on anything I wear. This little ring at least looked silver when I bought it, an hour or so later and it was almost all copper. Anyway, I haven’t really been into wearing ankle boots without tights ever, but I tried it the other day after staring at Face Hunter for too long and noticing that a lot of the girls on that site were doing it. It took a little coaxing from my brother, but I eventually left the house in a dress and boots and ended up loving the look. Today, however, the shorts + boots are making me feel a lot more like the industrial boys from Gregg Araki’s Totally Fucked Up than a stylish Brit or Scandinavian and, in fact, I was wondering if I should have worn my Ministry shirt instead. I searched forever on the internet trying to find screenshots of this film but there was nothing except the cover available, though I did find this blog post with the whole thing.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amanda said, on August 26, 2009 at 3:07 PM

    i got to get back to beacons..last time i scored really dope stuff and i get the itch whenever my favortie bloggers find things!

    that top is really cool btw. and ankle boots w/ naked legs is so necessary..

  2. Jeralyn said, on August 26, 2009 at 9:27 PM

    I’m totally biased because I worked at Beacon’s so long, but I really think it’s a must-shop place in NYC! The amount of deals that come through that place are so insane I can hardly believe it. And even though the employees DO get tons of great stuff, I always end up finding something out on the racks that slipped by them (or that they don’t want because even despite their discount they still can’t afford to buy everything they like). Ahh I am itching to go back. Boston sucks in that department because the only Beacons-ish store up here is MY store and frankly, I am sick of it. I want to see new stuff!


Leave a Reply

