I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 9 / 1 6 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on September 16, 2009


 


I don’t know if it’s the onset of autumn or if I’ve just been slack in taking care of myself, but either way I’ve been run down with an awful cold – the kind that makes even the act of getting out of bed seem monumental. This caused a major bumout because I’d been looking forward to seeing Crocodiles (finally!) and The Horrors (again) for months. I went anyway but I was crankier than I should have been. The show was good but for most of the night I found myself comparing other performers to the ones I was watching (for the record, there is no one to compare Spider Webb to . . . he’s just that good). As usual, this train of thought led me to Nick Cave. Mostly because I know that the dude from Crocodiles used to be in The Plot To Blow Up The Eiffel Tower and I know that Zack went on tour with them and after, he told me that when he showed them his “Release The Bats” tattoo, they revealed that someone in their band had a tattoo from “Six Inch Gold Blade.” (Not sure if it was one of the Crocodiles.) I was talking to Micki last night because he went to see Nick Cave give a reading/get interviewed and we discussed the influence of Cave as well as the type of questions we would have asked (according to Micki, the interviewer didn’t go a great job). Again, all these thoughts were just whirring around in my head the whole night and it was impossible to really separate them or discover what conclusion I was trying to come to. I still haven’t figured it out, but this ramble was a good way to lead into some videos of Nick Cave reading from both “And The Ass Saw The Angel” and “The Death of Bunny Munro.”



One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. natasha said, on September 17, 2009 at 9:16 AM

    i saw nick cave last night in toronto (just made a post actually). oh lord i was dying all over the place. the interviewer here didn’t do a great job either, he’s the douchiest radio personality in the city.


Leave a Reply

