I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 9 / 2 7 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on September 27, 2009


 


When I was in high school, I used to love The Garment District. It was a huge treat to convince my mom to take me into the city so I could go shopping there and I have a very distinct memory of a cute boy who worked there once asking me if I wanted any glitter and when I merely smiled because I was so caught off-guard, he dumped a bunch of glitter on my head. It was the 90s, so this was perfectly acceptable to me. Anyway, years passed and I rarely visited the store. The last time was a few years ago and, spoiled by Beacon’s and other NYC locales, I was pretty disappointed with its wares. Recently a friend got a job there after talking about it with him a bit, I decided to go check it out again. While the store is huge, most of the stock is simply not my style. It’s very similar to a thrift store, lots of polyester and random stuff just thrown all over the place. They do have an enormous costume section, but it’s primarily made up of pre-made costumes (you know, pirate jackets, etc) that are quite expensive. And, of course, they have Dollar-A-Pound on the first floor (which is really $1.50/lb now) but I am completely uninterested in sitting on a floor full of dirty clothes and digging through them in the hopes of finding a few unstained t-shirts. I think my problem with The Garment District is that it really hasn’t changed since I frequented it in high school — it hasn’t really moved with the times. Regardless of all that, I did manage to find one really amazing thing for an unbelievably low price. This item required a lot of foresight because as it was, it looked pretty ridiculous. I could clearly see the woman who would have worn this piece in the 80s, Dynasty hair and tons of glamorous make-up . . . but that look isn’t for me. What I bought was a two piece dress — basically a floor-length pink silk gown with cascading ruffles and a light pink/cream silk top with sequins and beads sewn all over it. When I got home, I immediately threw the under-gown away and cut out the enormous shoulder-pads (which were beefed up with ruffled netting) — I know strong shoulders are in this season, but these were unacceptable. The end result was a sheer, sparkly mini dress which I wore out last night over a black slip and with a black snakeskin belt + tights, platforms and a leather jacket. The total cost was $7.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissa said, on September 27, 2009 at 1:49 PM

    i haven’t been there since 99…i used to love it. i found some really great pieces there.


Leave a Reply

