I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

1 1 / 1 0 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on November 10, 2009


 


I should probably feel guilty about this, but I found this Swans t-shirt at the newly opened Boston Buffalo Exchange. I’ve been there twice and it’s pretty much like all the other Buffalo Exchanges I’ve been to — okay, but not that great. I’m sure people with different style probably love it, but it’s never been my favorite. That being said, I can’t not go there because I am addicted to shopping in second-hand stores. My time at Beacon’s convinced me that you never know what the hell you will find and even though I own a second-hand store now and can have my pick of the things that come in here, I’m always on the lookout. Anyway, when I saw this Swans shirt for $9, I had to have it of course. Worn today with an oversized short-sleeved cardigan (no label) and Sass & Bide Black Rats. The fact that it was warm enough when I left the house to just be wearing this makes me nervous. Boston (and New England in general and while we’re at it, the Northeast really) is notorious for temperamental weather. This could just be a trick to lull us all into a false sense of security so that when we wake up to two feet of snow tomorrow we won’t be prepared at all . . .

I’ve been thinking about my t-shirt collection a lot lately. I think I need to document it more. About a year ago I didn’t really have much of one because they weren’t really a part of my wardrobe. But as I have started shopping for the store and my brother more, I obviously pay attention to t-shirts more than I used to and I’ve acquired quite an interesting grouping. It’s not very large but it’s very specific. It can be divided into three parts: vintage band t-shirts (but only certain bands . . . you won’t find any ironic Van Halen shirts around these parts), designer t-shirts that have interesting graphics and Rogues Gallery tees that were gifted to me by Justin. There are about two or three that don’t fall into those categories but they’re vintage shirts that had some sort of appeal (i.e. my Twin Peaks shirt) that correlates to these groups and/or my general aesthetic. I’m kind of bummed that I have done so much ‘clearing-out’ in the past because I know there are some really good tees that have fallen by the wayside and I would love to still have them in my collection. The same thing happened with records — I just got rid of a lot of stuff I thought I didn’t need probably 5-7 years ago and now I regret it. Though I guess the good thing about doing that is I’ve learned my lesson and now I make sure to hang onto stuff like this.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sophie said, on December 2, 2009 at 5:56 PM

    so jealous of your tshirt!

  2. maya said, on December 16, 2009 at 4:50 PM

    holy crap that t-shirt is rad…such a lucky find

  3. Jeralyn said, on December 16, 2009 at 5:16 PM

    Thanks! I knew it was awesome, but I didn’t realize how covetable it was until I put it up here…

  4. thebarndance said, on January 31, 2010 at 3:51 PM

    Hey!
    Just had to tell you I’m jealous as hell about that shirt!
    I like your blog otherwise aswell!

    -Eini

  5. Jeralyn said, on January 31, 2010 at 4:13 PM

    Thank you! I didn’t realize I would get so many compliments on this shirt : )

  6. thebarndance said, on January 31, 2010 at 5:21 PM

    i just ordered a new swans tee online but it would be nice to own a vintage one aswell!


Leave a Reply

