I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

1 2 / 0 2 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on December 2, 2009


 
















Last year, my birthday was terrible. I hadn’t officially moved to Boston, but I was spending a lot of time here and most of that time had been spent crashing on my brother’s couch in a small studio apartment. Later, we moved to a two bedroom and I had my own space, but I didn’t want it — I wanted to go back to New York. I didn’t tell anyone it was my birthday and stayed in my Brooklyn apartment drinking wine alone for most of the evening. I met up with Massimo and he convinced me to go see Twilight, which I agreed to on the condition that I be allowed to drink much more wine in the theater. Of course, by the end of the movie I was wasted and wanted to go out so we visited Amy at K&M, but there were only a few other people there. In the end, I realized it hadn’t been that terrible, but it had been far from celebratory. So, this year when I saw that my birthday was falling on a Wednesday, I knew I had to turn it into a party. Wierd is easily and obviously one of the things I miss the most about living in New York. I had been getting into minimal synth for a while, but never had anyone to really geek out with about it all until I started going there regularly and met Pieter, Glenn and the whole crew. I know it’s boring to anyone who isn’t an obsessed music nerd, but it really is my favorite thing to talk about — not just synth, but music in general. What’s the point of acquiring all this knowledge and minutiae if I have no one to share it with? Anyway, my party killed it. Zohra made cupcakes, everyone bought me drinks, Pieter’s super high-tech fog machine was on full blast and from what I remember, I had the best time ever. Unfortunately, I drank way more than I should have so getting up the next day to cook Thanksgiving dinner for everyone was incredibly painful. Amazingly though, we pulled it off. We had dinner at Veronica’s house, with most of the food supplied by me and Amanda. The group of friends that ended up getting together was seemingly random but meshed perfectly. I love Thanksgiving when it’s like this — hanging out with friends, listening to good music and drinking wine and everyone relaxed and happy. This is why I hate spending that holiday with my family, it’s not that I hate them, but the vibe just isn’t the same. Thanksgiving night, as usual, turned into a party but again, as usual, everyone was too stuffed to go really nuts. I was supposed to leave Friday but since my brother agreed to work a bunch of days since he was about to take another vacation, I ended up staying until Monday. On Friday, Massimo and I again tortured ourselves by going to see New Moon but this time I didn’t bring nearly enough alcohol to make it interesting. The rest of my time in New York was mostly spent shopping, brunching, watching movies and just generally chilling. I came back to Boston and immediately suffered post-NYC depression, which was only mildly numbed by my second birthday party at The Model (which turned into staying up till whothefuckknowswhen). Paul and I went to see The Big Pink last night and they fucking killed it, seriously so good, especially the cover of “These Arms of Mine.” I wanted to hang out and maybe torment myself more by getting fucked up yet again but Paul wasn’t feeling the going-out-vibe since he had worked all day yesterday and had to head off to Miami today. Anyway, I’m 28 now. It’s nuts. I keep thinking about my 21st birthday, maybe because everyone I know in Boston is so young or maybe because that’s when I had been living in New York for about a year and was really starting to settle in and feel it to be my true home. I remember that I listened to It’ll End In Tears all day that day so I put it on during my drive back to Boston and as predicted, the memories came flooding back. Then I listened to A Brief History of Love for the rest of the drive because I was thinking about all of the parallels between the two albums, maybe not for everyone, but at least for me. The Big Pink are one of the only post-Ivo 4AD bands who, I think, really capture the spirit and sound originally conceived by the label. I wish I could go see them again the next two nights in NYC.

This Mortal Coil – Fond Affections

 

The Big Pink – Too Young To Love

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amanda said, on December 2, 2009 at 8:43 PM

    ha, we’re the same age! unfortunately i wasn’t in nyc yet for my 21st or i’m sure it would have been way more kickass. i have a feeling you’ll make it back here one day :)

  2. Jeralyn said, on December 2, 2009 at 11:09 PM

    I know I’ll make it back…. I just wish I could speed up the process! – Anyway my 21st birthday was fun, but not as crazy as you might expect – at the time all my friends were younger than me!


Leave a Reply

