I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

1 2 / 0 3 / 0 9

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on December 3, 2009


 


Well the morning has come and gone and brought with it not the slightest sense of regret. Still digging on my hair and totally psyched that it was warm today so I didn’t have to feel the winter chill on my bare skull. I wasn’t really thinking about shaving my head, though I was longing for some kind of a change with my hair. It was just seeming way too normal and boring and my bangs had been driving me crazy for a while. I sometimes read the blog of Akiko, the drummer of The Big Pink – Exceedingly Good Keex – and there have been a lot of photos of her shaving other people’s heads or them shaving hers or whatever. Anyway, I was looking at it again the other night and just started thinking about how I really needed to spice up my life and be crazier and shave my head and party all night, or something like that. So I finally just said fuck it and after thinking about it for less than twenty-four hours, put 2/3 of my hair in a ponytail and hacked off the other half. It was quite empowering in a way, watching all that long hair just fall off my head and into the sink. Besides the last few years when I have let my hair grow out and be a ‘normal’ color, I’ve always had something interesting going on, whether it was short or asymmetrical or strange colors and it always worked with my style and never made me feel like less of a woman . . . so, with that in mind, I knew I had to let go of this attachment to the long hair. I’m glad I did. I think this is going to be fun.

Besides Akiko’s blog, I was also heavily inspired by:


Annabella Lwin of Bow Wow Wow. I love Bow Wow Wow and I love Annabella’s style from when she was in the band. It’s crazy how she was super young (15) and thought of as a sex symbol, despite having this insane hair and a pretty ‘fuck you’ attitude. I love her.

 

Also Alice Dellal. I don’t know much about her, but I have always admired her super grungy style and the way she perfectly balances an extremely tough/punk edge with a graceful, feminine beauty.
 

So there you have it. I’m sure my hair will take on a few manifestations in the coming months while I figure out exactly how I am going to wear this style and make it my own. Right now I’m just so stoked on it though, so proud of myself for taking the plunge!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Carmelita said, on December 4, 2009 at 3:18 PM

    amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. melissa said, on December 5, 2009 at 3:11 PM

    that’s really fantastic. i’m a big fan of shaving my head…i’m currently waiting for more length before i go for the plunge again. either that or might brave a shorter mohawk…i haven’t decided yet. have you ever seen pictures of manuela ruda? she has a shaved head to die for…complete with shaved in inverted crosses.

  3. kendal croix said, on December 9, 2009 at 1:22 PM

    i love when pretty girls have the whole fuck you grungy style.

  4. Lily said, on December 14, 2009 at 1:43 PM

    I wanna copy of one of those pictures of you, with the new style. xoox You can choose WitcH one because I like both equally.


Leave a Reply

