I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 1 / 0 4 / 1 0

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on January 4, 2010


 


Really excited to finally receive this package today! Especially since I lost my ear chain in NYC and I’m not sure if I should replace it (I actually “lost” it twice though the first time, someone found it and gave it back to me – if it falls off my ear so easily, maybe it’s not a good match for me?). Anyway, while googling around trying to find an upside down cross earring (not as easy as you would think!), I came across this website IMOSH. It’s basically a “heavy metal” jewelry site. All the normal fare is there (pentagrams, Slayer logos, skulls), but these sweet little upside down cross earrings are really the best. And you don’t have to order a pair! I realized that my ear might look a bit naked with just that so I picked up an ear cuff as well. It’s all part of my plan to turn myself into an 80s death rocker before my impending vacation to California.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ktr said, on January 4, 2010 at 11:54 PM

    hey jeralyn, was just curious as to what exactly you’re trying to give-off with the inverted cross as some people usually mistake it as an anit-christ symbol

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inverted_Cross

  2. Jeralyn said, on January 5, 2010 at 12:01 AM

    I am not opposed to being perceived as an anti-religious person, though that isn’t really the reason for wearing the earring. I think I’ve made it pretty obvious that I subscribe to a “goth” aesthetic, or at least – that I am a fan of such a look and do attempt to emulate it sometimes. As I said, I am going to California and I have this idea of creating an “80s death rocker” look for while I am there. I suppose a really good example of that look would be the band Christian Death – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_Death

  3. Jeralyn said, on January 5, 2010 at 12:04 AM

    Oh I just noticed that you linked the Wikipedia article, were you trying to say that if I WAS going for an anti-christ/religious statement then this is the wrong way to make it? Either way it’s more of an aesthetic thing than political. Whether or not the inverted cross is truly evil or satanic, it has been adopted as such by so many subcultures that I think it, at the very least, has that vibe these days.

  4. melissa said, on January 6, 2010 at 11:30 AM

    have you seen this site? http://www.pushindaisies.com they have some pretty great stuff on there, jewelry included.

  5. Jeralyn said, on January 10, 2010 at 2:34 AM

    Definitely some cool stuff on there! Kind of into the skeleton hand bracelet, might need to make it mine..


Leave a Reply

