I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 1 / 0 8 / 1 0

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on January 8, 2010


 


— H.P. Lovecraft, The White Ship

I didn’t do one of those year-end-roundup things where I talked about how many of my New Year’s resolutions from last year I kept or how many I plan to undertake this year. Mostly because things like that end up being too private. However, I will share one. Last year one of my resolutions was continue to read at the rapid rate of 1-3 books per week. I must have been on an insane kick at that point because 1-3 books a week is quite a lot, even for me. I do try to read every single day and there are, of course, times when I will finish a book in one or two days, but usually it takes a bit longer than that. This problem would be easy to solve if only I would read more at work, but even though I can read on buses/trains/planes and in busy cafes, etc — I need to be somewhat focused on my reading, so even though there is background noise, I can block it out. At work, there is too much interruption with all the customers. Anyway, back to my resolution. I did not manage to read one book per week but as the year dragged on, I checked my progress on Goodreads and calculated how much I thought I could get to by year’s end so that I could set a new goal: 26 books for the year. A goal which averages out to one book every two weeks and a goal which, I am happy to say, I met. Despite reading 26 books, I started about nine others that I got through to varying degrees before putting them down for whoknowswhat reasons. So my resolution this year is to finish all those books I started last year and hopefully add another 20 or so onto the list. One such book I started last year was The Thing On The Doorstep And Other Weird Stories by H.P. Lovecraft. It probably seems quite ridiculous that I hadn’t ever read any Lovecraft before, especially when I am such a huge fan of Poe (shocking, I’m sure). A few nights ago I was listening to records in the mostly-dark of my room, thinking about the book lying on my bedside table (The Goddess And Other Women by Joyce Carol Oates) and how it wasn’t really the right book for my mood. Then I suddenly remembered that I had barely finished the introduction of this Lovecraft book and never got around to actually reading any of the stories. I found it easily enough, thanks to my colorized book shelves, and immediately fell into this dark and weird world with the story the above quote is taken from. So far, my resolutions are off to a good start.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissa said, on January 8, 2010 at 4:23 PM

    i’m currently reading ‘the case of charles dexter ward’. it’s my first lovecraft book and i’m really liking it so far. i definitely need to buy more of his work.

  2. Jeralyn said, on January 8, 2010 at 4:53 PM

    Check that website above, I think they have almost all of his work available online!

  3. melissa said, on January 8, 2010 at 5:29 PM

    thanks, i will!


Leave a Reply

