I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 4 / 1 0 / 1 0

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on April 10, 2010



 



 

There’s something about a man in a suit. If it fits properly and is adorned with the right accessories, it can really be perfect for any occasion. My love of men in suits probably started at some point when I was in high school — obsessing over Nation of Ulysses and The Make Up. Justin and I bought matching tight black pants which we hemmed even tighter at the ankles and we worked really hard to imitate Ian Svenonious, Michelle Mae & co. because, basically, they looked so fucking badass. When I see pictures of the way they dressed back then, I can still feel the cool emanating from them. The suit-love really came to fruition during my early Nick Cave years though. Nick Cave is old and can has definitely lost a little of his edge, but the suits . . . ah, the suits, they really keep it all together. I adore a wild, mismatched look, I really do — but sometimes a man in a suit really just looks like he’s got it under control.

The above picture is of my friends Chris and Nick at Nick’s birthday party the other night. I don’t know where Chris’ suit is from but Nick’s three-piece suit and shirt were custom made by Against Nature in New York. I haven’t been to check it out yet but I hear it’s kind of amazing. Even if a suit isn’t custom made, I think it should definitely be tailored after buying so that it fits perfectly. That’s really the something that gives the suit-wearer his edge.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissa said, on April 11, 2010 at 1:10 PM

    i love it when men wear suits. i don’t even remember when the love first began….but i do remember a certain boy from my hometown that moved to boston that loved to wear suits. gorgeous.

  2. Nemo said, on April 14, 2010 at 2:09 PM

    I like wearing a suit. I even have a nice one from Against Nature. But, honestly i get a lot more attention from women when i dress down. i’ll admit, this is probably a bigger influence than it should be.

  3. Jeralyn said, on April 14, 2010 at 2:16 PM

    I guess it depends on the context. A man could look pretty stuffy in a suit if he’s not in the right setting…

  4. KingWolf said, on April 16, 2010 at 1:48 PM

    Nemo, you don’t own a suit from Against Nature. You dress down because your portly figure and unrefined taste won’t allow anything else! haha!


Leave a Reply

