I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 5 / 1 8 / 1 0

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on May 18, 2010



 




Lately, I have been thinking about variations on a theme. A lot of the clothes/shoes/accessories I own basically look the same but have minor differences which make them all essential to my wardrobe. These, however, are the only actual duplicates I own: a black and a grey version of the same KA7 dress (the grey one was found on the sale rack at Barney’s, the black one was found at Beacon’s) and a grey, white and black version of the same Norma Kamali for Everlast cardigan (grey and white found at Beacon’s, black one found at Rescue). Both of these garments are timeless styles for me. The Norma Kamali cardigan literally goes with everything I wear and is the perfect layering piece in almost any kind of weather. Having it in these three colors that I wear most often is essential to my sanity — I can grab any one of them and it will work. The KA7 dress works in almost the same way. I have worn it as a dress, a shirt, a tunic — over and under a variety of looks. I had the grey one for a year or two before a friend found the black one for me at Beacon’s. Both are in constant rotation.

A lot of my friends rag on me for constantly wearing/having things that look exactly the same. Mostly people remark on my shoes which are 90% black and almost all some sort of ankle boot/open-toe/wedge hybrid. They honestly are all different though, all with varying levels of comfort and design which complement diverse outfits. I like having a wardrobe built around these principles because it really helps me get a lot of wear out of my clothes. When I worked at Beacon’s, I had so much stuff constantly at my fingertips that I could buy all kinds of insane shit while thinking, “Maybe one day I’ll find a reason to wear this.” Years after leaving that job, I don’t really have the luxury to waste money on something that I won’t really wear a lot.

On an unrelated note, things are going really great at the new Rescue. We’ve been so busy and it’s awesome but it’s definitely a change from sitting around looking at blogs and updating mine all day long. Also a friend broke my camera (seriously I shouldn’t be around any electronics, ever) but I plan on getting it fixed this week . . .

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amanda said, on May 18, 2010 at 9:50 AM

    i have a lot of similar pieces too- plenty of loose black shirt dresses and skinny black pants…it’s good to have things like that to fall back on when you have no motivation to think up something different to wear


Leave a Reply

