I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 6 / 1 4 / 1 0

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on June 14, 2010


 


I love, love, love perfumes. I always have 10-15 fragrances hanging out in my room. I go through phases of getting really into something and then finding something new (or revisiting something old) and so I always keep all the half-empty bottles in a drawer or on my window sill in case the mood for that scent strikes me again. Currently, I am revisiting the way back past via Gucci Rush 2. This fragrance came out in 2001 and that’s probably around the time I first picked it up. I remember very distinctly wearing it while I was living in Berlin (2003) and I saved the container from then, even though there were only a few drops left. Recently while I was cleaning my room, I rediscovered this bottle and noticed that there might be enough liquid left to wear it a few times. Just one dab and I was back in a totally different place . . . sometimes memories via scent can be so tragic but this just makes me feel young and happy and full of promise. It’s a wonderful feeling. So wonderful, in fact, that I had to get another full bottle so I can start wearing it again.

 

“Nothing is more memorable than a smell. One scent can be unexpected, momentary and fleeting, yet conjure up a childhood summer beside a lake in the mountains; another, a moonlit beach; a third, a family dinner of pot roast and sweet potatoes during a myrtle-mad August in a Midwestern town. Smells detonate softly in our memory like poignant land mines hidden under the weedy mass of years. Hit a tripwire of smell and memories explode all at once. A complex vision leaps out of the undergrowth.”

 

Leave a Reply

