I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 6 / 2 5 / 1 0

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on June 25, 2010


 


So, after almost ten years, I am finally taking Massimo up on his offer to go to Italy. We leave in less than two months and we’ll be spending a little over a week in Brindisi, on the beach. I’ve been trying to come up with outfit ideas for this trip because obviously my usual uniform (tons of black, leggings, jeans, etc) isn’t going to work. I really don’t know why, but the idea of a long, straight black skirt came into my mind. I had this idea of wearing it with t-shirts knotted in the front for a somewhat breezy but still covered up look for when we go on the “day trips” Massimo has promised me. I searched high and low but couldn’t find anything that I liked until I started searching on Ebay and found the perfect thing. It arrived the other day and I wore it in my envisioned look and absolutely loved it. I always thought a full-length skirt would be totally unflattering on me (curvy body, short stature) but I actually thought it looked amazing and super witchy!

To go with my witchy summer vibes, here’s some music from BootBlacks, who opened that show in New York the other night (which was predictably insane, both during and after) . . . I got their split 7″ with Monozid — totally worth picking up if you like throbbing Tracy Pew-style bass, pounding drums and wiry, sexy frontmen with resonant voices.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissa said, on June 25, 2010 at 2:36 PM

    i have the same body type and i love long skirts. have you ever searched the kambriel site? really great gothy stuff.

  2. Laura said, on June 26, 2010 at 6:50 PM

    I am really enjoying your website and can offer you some advice on beachwear….
    I live in sunny southern california right on the beach and I too will wear any color as long as its black!
    Two words:
    Maxi dress!
    To avoid looking trendy or like a hippy, I go for black patent leather flat sandals or flip flops, gigantor super blacked out sunglasses, a small bat charm necklace, SPF 70+ (aveeno baby is the best) and sometimes a giant 70’s black straw hat. I end up looking like a glamourous witch and thats fine. Sometimes I’ll wear a head scarf and its kinda French Riviera…. Also I always need a light sweater so thats a good place to get the extra drapey hoody bits in, although super cropped is usually better with the maxi so you can see your shape. Platforms with maxi dresses make you look ultra tall!
    I recommend Gypsy 05, Rachel Palley and Patterson J. Kincaid for maxi dresses.
    If I lived in the city I might dress a little bit more, um, urban or “edgier” but around here it ends up looking seriously goths in hot weather….

  3. Jeralyn said, on June 27, 2010 at 6:33 PM

    Thank you!! I ordered something from Nasty Gal called the Witchcraft Cardigan, sounds like it will go perfect over a black maxi dress — really excited for my summer goth look and can’t wait to document this trip to Italy xx


Leave a Reply

