I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

1 0 / 1 7 / 1 0

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on October 17, 2010



 




So, some awesome dudes I am friends with put out a new book with their long-time collaborator. These three musketeers have put out three completely fucking sick books over the years: No Seats On The Party Car, Slept In Beds and now, Please Take Me Off The Guest List. They’ve been doing a bunch of events to promote the book and last night they were in Boston. It was the closing event of the Boston Book Fest and, if my friends hadn’t been involved, I probably wouldn’t have checked it out — which is a real shame because it was such an awesome time! It was readings and small performances by mostly music people who have written books (including Dean Wareham from Galaxie 500 (!!!!) — yes he played a Galaxie 500 song (Blue Thunder!!!) — and Kirstin Hersh from Throwing Muses). Anyway, I’m totally stoked I got to go and yes, I had to buy the book there (come on, I gotta support my friends) and since no one was coming over to their table to get things signed, I requested some REALLY personal dedications. And you can see how my wishes came true by the wobbly bat and the millionth in-joke between me (and a lot of other people) and Zack in this book.

But the real point of this post is that the book is so fucking good! I have known Zack for almost ten years and I have seen his writing develop in that time. I really think that he is writing some of his best stuff right now. He’s found the perfect balance between hilarious and perverted, like someone telling you a pretty fucked up story about their life but with the cutest little twinkle in their eye. Nick’s photographs are, as always, beautiful. I probably love them so much because we have the exact same taste in almost everything. And Stacey’s design is just awesome. On the website for the book, The Stranger is quoted as saying, “It’s a gorgeous book, but there’s more to it than that. Wakefield is a designer; she juxtaposed Zinner’s photos with Lipez’s stories of life in the rock and roll gutter in a really unique way. There is literally no way you could make this book into a satisfying e-book. It’s a beautiful artifact.” This is completely true. Despite being glossy and professional-looking, the book still has the intimacy and feel of a hand-made zine. I am a zine-maker and collector from the 1990s with a box full of tattered photocopied papers that mean more to me than a lot of my other possessions . . . and this book fits right in with them.

Zack, Nick and Stacy will be doing a bunch of events promoting the book in the near future. Dates can be found here or by by becoming a fan on Facebook. I highly suggest checking them out. Live, Nick and Stacey provide a haunting ambient soundtrack to Zack’s reading while Nick’s photographs slowly pass by on a screen behind them. It’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

