I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

1 0 / 2 0 / 1 0

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on October 20, 2010



 

I change perfume often but only and always when I passionately love a scent so much that I must have it. I never throw away perfume bottles, I have a drawer full of bottles with barely a spray left in them but when I want to be reminded of certain times I just hold a bottle up to my face and breathe deeply. Everything comes back in an instant.

Yesterday my brother asked me to stop by Barney’s and pick up a cologne he had tried and couldn’t stop thinking about. While I was waiting for him to confirm that I had found the right brand, I began casually smelling everything on the counter in front of me. I was led to the Commes des Garçons the corner by my love of their scents, but when I said that I had already tried most of them, the woman behind the counter led me to a new series called Editions de Parfums by Frédéric Malle. There was one scent there which had a very striking similarity to CDG White, but there was something lighter about this one. Still, I wasn’t completely sold. I tried several more and really caught the bug for wanting a new perfume. These scents were all created by notable perfumers and scenes from Perfume: The Story of A Murderer started floating through my head. I envisioned mad scientist-types struggling to create the perfect essence of smell. I asked the woman for a heavy, flowery, non-powdery, non-spicy smell. And I got it. Carnal Flower created by Dominique Ropion. Here is the description from the site:

With Tuberose, nature offers her own take on dramatic olfactive clashes. These pretty flowers exude a mixture of flowershop freshness and carnal opulence. This natural contradiction has fascinated generations of perfumers and Dominique Ropion is no exception. Starting from the latest high-tech analysis of the odor of living Tuberose, he proposed to use whatever product was necessary to get a formula that was close to nature and to create a fragrance that could mix with the wearer’s skin scent. The frequent stays of Frédéric Malle in California, where the odor of Tuberose and Gardenia is everywhere, were very inspiring and led him to encourage Dominique Ropion to reinforce the solar and carnal character of the flower. His answer was to exaggerate some aspects already existing in the natural scent, such as Coconut and Salycilates and to add a trace of musk.

It is an amazing scent. There are so many layers that reveal themselves as the perfume seeps into your skin. It wasn’t cheap — in fact, it was a lot more than I normally spend on perfume ($200 for the small bottle) — but I spritzed some on myself before going to bed and drifted into dreams of beauty and wonder . . . so I know it was worth it.

Sidenote: I never knew this, but the woman at Barney’s said to never rub your wrists together after applying perfume. She said it breaks up the scent and prevents all the layers from flowing out over time.

Another sidenite: Here is a great interview with Frédéric Malle, which touches on his unique claim of coming from a very perfume-centric family, as well as his reasons for creating this line.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Madeleine Louise - wekilledcouture said, on October 21, 2010 at 6:55 AM

    Love the bottles on these.
    And your blog is amazing!

  2. carlos rossi said, on October 21, 2010 at 1:27 PM

    trina has this perfume, it’s fucking hypnotic. quite possibly one of THEE best scents on the planet.

    if they had one for men, i’d wear it.

  3. Jeralyn said, on October 21, 2010 at 1:30 PM

    Vétiver Extraordinaire is made by the same perfumer as Carnal Flower and it’s for men. Check it out!

  4. Jeralyn said, on October 21, 2010 at 1:40 PM

    Thanks! Just checked out yours — it’s awesome. I’m adding it to my list :)


Leave a Reply

