I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

1 2 / 0 6 / 1 0

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on December 6, 2010



 

I don’t usually get excited about movies and there are very few films I actually go see on opening night (mostly Harry Potter). But, for some reason, I got excited about Black Swan. I’ve seen all of Darren Aronofsky’s films except The Wrestler, but that wasn’t the only reason I was excited. I actually don’t know what the reason was, but I went to see it by myself on opening night and even though the theater was completely crowded and insane, it was still totally worth it. I thought the movie was perfect, but I won’t bother going into any detail since I know it hasn’t been fully released yet. As is obvious though, the film centers on a performance of Swan Lake, a ballet which I wasn’t really familiar with. I, like most little girls, briefly took ballet when I was younger but my interest never grew beyond those few years and I’ve never seen anything professionally performed. Watching this film got me really interested in the story of Swan Lake — it’s explained briefly, but not in detail. After just a little quick research, I can tell this ballet is something I really want to see in person. The story itself is beautiful and tragic (I love a sad ending) and just look at how incredible this pas de deux from Act III is:

A little bit more research led me to the knowledge that Swan Lake is being performed in February by the New York City Ballet. See you there!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. death_sexxx said, on December 7, 2010 at 6:51 AM

    can’t wait to see this movie!!

  2. Jeralyn said, on December 7, 2010 at 11:38 AM

    Let me know what you think! I loved it so much.. might go see it again…

  3. Justin said, on December 8, 2010 at 8:13 AM

    hmph


Leave a Reply

