I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

1 2 / 1 3 / 1 0

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on December 13, 2010



 

Tonight, I fell down the internet rabbit-hole. It all started when I was casually hanging out in my room with my cat, listening to music. I decided to listen to one of my favorite compilations Can’t Stop It: Australian Post-Punk 1978-1982. One of my favorite tracks on the record is “Honeymoons” by Fabulous Marquises. Unfortunately, I’ve never been able to find much out about this band or to track down anything by them besides this song. However, it had been a while since I last looked so I figured I would give the internet a whirl. I was directed to some year-old clips on YouTube, which only whetted my appetite. Not much comes up on a google search for the band, but I was led to this blog: Sails of Oblivion. There was an entry about a night in 1981 spent with the singer of FM. A little more reading, mostly of the entirely engrossing 1981 Diaries, got me wondering — who is this person whose life I am poring over right now? I googled his name and my mind was kind of blown. He is Sam Sejavka, singer of The Ears and the person who was semi-fictionally portrayed by Michael Hutchence in “Dogs In Space.” I suppose that wouldn’t be the biggest deal in the world, except that after dancing around to “Honeymoons,” I put on “True Love” by the Marching Girls and thought about one of my favorite scenes in that movie — where the girls are doing drugs and applying lipstick while dancing around to the very same song. The main girl in the film, Anna, is semi-fictionally based on Sam’s real-life girlfriend Christine Harding. I don’t know, it just all seemed a little too coincidental. Added to this is, of course, the incredible depth and emotion in the short, simple diary entries written by a twenty-year-old Sejavka and I felt completely sucked into this other world for a moment. Perhaps it is because I often read my old diary entries and marvel at the wonder and innocence that seems to prevail — it hasn’t even been a decade since I was twenty and I already feel like something has been forever lost. It might also be the fact that I am currently reading “The Shallows: What The Internet Is Doing To Our Brains” and have been constantly thinking about what is both lost and gained by the way our brains are changing due to the current technologies (not just the internet) that we use every day. I am a strong advocate of analogue ideals — I read books, I listen to records, I collect actual objects for their intellectual, artistic, emotional and entertainment values . . . but a brief journey like I took tonight would never have been possible without the internet . . . without blogs, YouTube, and the bit torrent client that allowed me to download “Dogs In Space” so I can watch it over and over again.

 

 


Fabulous Marquises – Honeymoons

 

 


The scene from “Dogs In Space” with “True Love” by the Marching Girls

 

 


The Ears – Leap For Lunch (filmed in the same house as “Dogs In Space”)

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissa said, on December 13, 2010 at 10:55 AM

    thanks for introducing me to some new music. i’ve never heard any of these bands before.

  2. lauren said, on December 13, 2010 at 12:06 PM

    LOVE dogs in space!!!

  3. Jeralyn said, on December 13, 2010 at 12:35 PM

    No problem! Now you can go down the rabbit-hole with me…

  4. Jeralyn said, on December 13, 2010 at 12:36 PM

    Me too! Michael Hutchence is pretty amazing in it.

  5. Liana said, on December 19, 2010 at 3:04 AM

    pretty sure this blog is the shizzz
    :)

  6. Jeralyn said, on December 19, 2010 at 2:50 PM

    Thank you!

  7. Hot Pearl Snatch said, on January 24, 2011 at 4:46 AM

    Been down that rabbit-hole. The whole 78-82 Melbourne scene is so interesting, it’s worth buying the DVD so you get the extras – commentary from people like Bruce Milne (Au Go Go records owner). I think that directors (like Lowenstein – Dogs in Space) have given me a rose-coloured glasses version of it all too. Sam is actually friends with one of my friends, I don’t think he idealises that time at all – you can go and see him act in plays at La Mama now if you’re interested too!

  8. Jeralyn said, on February 2, 2011 at 1:32 PM

    Unfortunately I’m not in Australia so I don’t think I’ll make it to any plays! I can completely understand that my vision of the past is a “grass is always greener” kind of thing, but it does really seem that way sometimes… it’s hard to not feel like you missed out on something really special, you know?

  9. Hot Pearl Snatch said, on February 2, 2011 at 8:12 PM

    Not in Aus? Dang! Get the movie though, it’s worth it! I’m pretty sure my blog is all about feeling like I missed out on special stuff too :) Loved your post!

  10. Cam said, on July 12, 2013 at 12:46 AM

    Wow – where did you get that photo? Thats my friend Steve Vanguard/Holt playing synth on the right. We played together in a band called Wailing Wall in 1981-82. Do you have any more photos?


Leave a Reply

