I'll Wear Any Color As Long As It's Black

0 2 / 0 2 / 11

Posted in / / / by Jeralyn on February 2, 2011



 

Justine D. was a huge influence on and a really important person in my life when I first moved to New York. Her parties (Motherfucker and Aktion at Lit to name a few) were always the best, her style was (and is) impeccable and her personality is incredible. She always has a smile and a nice word for everyone, despite being involved in about ten thousand things at once. There was a brief period of time where I used to see her regularly, but as the years have gone on and I no longer live in New York, our run-ins have become infrequent. But that doesn’t mean she’s not still on my radar. While she was recently in France studying pastry, I began following her blog In The Kitchen At Parties — a really interesting collection of tales combining a passion for baking with a passion for music and nightlife. Justine is now back in New York and it seems like she has some new ideas up her sleeve, so I hope to run into her again soon. But the whole real point of this entry is to direct you towards an intriguing interview with her in the L Magazine where Justine manages to perfectly sum up my feelings on the interconnectedness between fashion, music and nightlife in one succinct little paragraph:

 

Do you attribute your style to your experience in the scene?

I have remnants of my “clubbing” years dispersed throughout my wardrobe, mostly in my old band tees. My style is comprised of several different elements stemming from pop culture, musical references and certain films. What’s interesting though, in nightlife you can often meet true artists/personalities…people who live this alternative, non mainstream lifestyle on a daily basis. It’s usually expressed in their clothing, makeup, hairstyle and even dance moves. It’s a way of life for them but inspiration to some fashion designers. I think the ability to check your inhibitions at the door, so to speak compels people to dress up and play a role of some sort. Fashion and nightlife are creative forms of escapism.

 

Read the rest of the interview here.

Listen to some of a live mix by Justine at RVNG Intl.

Photos by Crystal Gwyn.

Leave a Reply

